ICM 2018

ICM 2018

# Design for Motivation and Emotion 15 -17 August 2018

  • Earli/SIG 8 – 16th International Conference on Motivation 2018

Earli/SIG 8 – 16th International Conference on Motivation 2018

It is with great pleasure that we invite you to the 16th International Conference on Motivation.
The conference will be held in Aarhus, Denmark and hosted by the Danish School of Education, Aarhus University.

Under the theme of “Design for motivation”, the conference contributes to a basic scientific understanding of motivation and emotion, as well as highlighting ideas and design principles, which can be applied to improve motivation in teaching and learning settings.

How can we implement design principles for improving motivation and empirically examine how they work and under what conditions? How do different design principles support or conflict with educational principles when implemented in the classroom? How do these principles foster student motivation and learning within and across diverse learning environments and student groups?

These are some of the questions at the center of the discussions and presentations at this conference, exposing participants to new and inspiring perspectives whether well-established at the forefront of motivational science or at the early stages of a research career.

We warmly encourage participants to present results, useful ideas and design principles to increase the impact of research in motivation and emotion.

Time and venue

15-17 August 2018 in Aarhus

International Scientific Committee

Prof. Dr. Thomas Martens
Professor für Pädagogische Psychologie
Medical School Hamburg

Marina Serra Lemos
University of Porto, Portugal
SIG Coordinator
marina@fpce.up.pt

Hanke Korpershoek
Rijksuniversiteit Groningen, The Netherlands
h.korpershoek@rug.nl

Prof. Ann Renninger
Swarthmore College
krennin1@swarthmore.edu

Prof. Dr. Reinhard Pekrun
Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
pekrun@lmu.de

Professor Markku Niemivirta
University of Helsinki
Markku.Niemivirta@helsinki.fi

Maarten Vansteenkiste
Ghent University
Maarten.Vansteenkiste@UGent.be

Prof. dr. A.E.M.G. (Alexander) Minnaert
University of Groningen
a.e.m.g.minnaert@rug.nl

Professor  Judy Harackiewicz
University of Wisconsin-Madison
jmharack@wisc.edu

Dr. phil., Universitätsprofessor Marold Wosnitza
Prodekan
Aachen University
marold.wosnitza@rwth-aachen.de

Prof. dr. T.T.D. (Thea) Peetsma
University of Amsterdam
T.T.D.Peetsma@uva.nl

Marja Vauras
University of Turku , Turku
vauras@utu.fi

 

Local Organizing Committee

Niels Bonderup Dohn

Associate professor

Maria Hvid Stenalt

PhD Student/Educational it consultant

Frans Ørsted Andersen

Associate professor
M
H bldg. 2110, 238
P +4587163908
P +4521653749

Berit Lassesen

Associate professor

Anette Eriksen

Special Consultant
M
H bldg. D, 346
P +4587163582
P +4551443723

Andreas Lieberoth

Assistant Professor
M
H bldg. 2110, 229
P +4525808859
P +4525808859