Invited Speakers


1. Energy requirements in laboratory culture

Philippe van Cappellen (Univ. Waterloo, CND): Syntrophic microbial growth yield at low energy quantum and low energy flux.

Victoria Orphan (CalTech, USA): Growth dynamics of slow growing syntrophic ANME-bacterial consortia.

J. Gregory Ferry (Penn State, USA): Life on the thermodynamic edge: Respiratory growth of an acetotrophic methanogen.


2. Energy requirements and process rates in nature

Fumio Inagaki (Kochi Core Center, JP): Limits of the deep sub-seafloor biosphere.

Bo Barker Jørgensen (Aarhus Univ., DK): Controls on microbial energy metabolism in sub-seafloor sediments.

Tori M. Hoehler (NASA Ames, USA): The bearing of Earth’s low energy environments on the search for life in our solar system.


3. Deep biosphere communities

Barbara Sherwood-Lollar (Univ. Toronto, CND): Microbial Minimalism: electron donors and acceptors and metabolic strategies in the deep terrestrial biosphere.

Cara Magnabosco (ETH Zürich, CH): Microbial evolution in the deep subsurface.

Mark A. Lever (ETH Zurich, CH): Temperature, energy availability, and their interactions as drivers of sediment microbial community structure.


4. Microscale metabolic states in nature

Benedicte Menez (IPGP Paris, F): Microscale microbial carbon metabolism in the ocean crust.

Elizabeth Trembath-Reichert (Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, USA): High-resolution stable isotope probing of deep biosphere activity.

Dani Or (ETH Zurich, CH): Microbial life in soil hotspots – biophysical processes and self-organization.


5. Microbial strategies

Amelia-Elena Rotaru (University of Southern Denmark, DK): Interspecies electron transfer by conducting minerals.

Jan Amend (Univ. Southern California, USA): S comproportionation and S disproportionation in a cave ecosystem.

Jay T. Lennon (Indiana Univ., USA): Microbial ageing and longevity.

Slava Epstein (Northeastern University) giving a talk during Microenergy 2015
Slava Epstein (Northeastern University) giving a talk during Microenergy 2015. Picture by Bo Barker Jørgensen