Aarhus University Seal

The photos in the banner image are by NASA via https://images.nasa.gov/

5th-8th April 2022, Aarhus Institute of Advanced Studies, Aarhus University, Denmark

Astrochemistry meets Surface Science: Theoretical Frontiers


The goal of the workshop is to bring closer together the research communities of theoretical Astrochemistry and theoretical (under Earth conditions) Surface Science. These two fields often address very similar questions, while using the exact same techniques and methodologies (e.g. electronic structure methods such as density functional theory, molecular dynamics or kinetic Monte Carlo simulations). And yet, despite these similarities, a noticeable communication gap exists between the two communities. Our multidisciplinary workshop aims to bridge this gap and help establish new networking and collaboration ties between these fields.

The workshop will cover a broad range of topics ranging from surface reaction networks and kinetic models to the characterization of interstellar ices and questions of energy dissipation and heat transport. In parallel to the underlying scientific questions, special focus will be placed on theoretical and methodological aspects, as well as computational and numerical tools that are used in either one or both of the fields of Astrochemistry and Earth-related surface science.

Invited Speakers

Eric Herbst, Department of Astronomy, University of Virginia, USA.

Liv Hornekær, Department of Physics and Astronomy - Center for Interstellar Catalysis, Aarhus University.

Hannes Jónsson, Faculty of Physical Sciences, University of Iceland.  

Thanja Lamberts, Leiden Institute of Chemistry and Leiden Observatory, the Netherlands.

Karsten Reuter, Fritz-Haber-Institute, Berlin, Germany.

Albert Rimola, Department of Chemistry, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, Spain.  

Céline Toubin, Department of Physics, Lille University, France.

Workshop Information

The workshop will be held at the Aarhus Institute of Advanced Studies, Aarhus University, Denmark.

Register here.


Mie Andersen, Aarhus Institute of Advanced Studies & Department of Physics and Astronomy - Center for Interstellar Catalysis, Aarhus University, Denmark. Web page

Vanessa Jane Bukas, Fritz-Haber-Institute, Berlin, Germany. Web page

Herma Cuppen, Theoretical Chemistry Department, Institute for Molecules and Materials, Radboud University Nijmegen, the Netherlands. Web page

Important Dates

Abstract submission and registration are now closed.