Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

14th-18th June 2021, Department of Physics & Astronomy, Aarhus University, Denmark

The life cycle of cosmic PAHs

Polycyclic Aromatic Hydrocarbons (PAHs) are ubiquitous in space where they play a key role in heating of interstellar gas via the photoelectric effect, in setting the ionization balance of the interstellar medium (ISM) and potentially also as catalysts for formation of interstellar molecular complexity and as a component of interstellar organic material and dust. PAHs are identified as carriers of the aromatic infrared bands (AIBs) and are observed in a diverse range of interstellar environments. Yet, their lifecycle in interstellar space is still not well understood. The aim of this meeting is to bring observational astronomers, theorists and experimentalists working on PAH observations, formation, fragmentation, photo-physics, spectroscopy, surface science and chemistry together to shed light on the lifecycle of cosmic PAHs and to explore the future opportunities for PAH research provided by novel theoretical and experimental methods and future observational missions with focus on JWST and ELT.  

The symposium is the third installment in a series of meetings on interstellar polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs) with previous meetings held in Toulouse in 2010 and in Noordwijk in 2016.

Invited Speakers

Christine Joblin, Université Toulouse III - Paul Sabatier

Christiaan Boersma, NASA Ames research center

Sandra Brünken, Radboud University

Francois Dulieu, Université de Cergy-Pontoise  

Giacomo Mulas, INAF

Jan Cami, University of Western Ontario

Melanie Schnell, Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel

Henning Zettergren, Stockholm University

Wybren Jan Buma, Universiteit van Amsterdam

José Ángel Martín Gago,  Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Madrid - CSIC

Ewen K. Campbell, University of Edinburgh

Michael Duncan, University of Georgia

Partha P. Bera, NASA Ames research center

Javier R. Goicoechea, Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas - CSIC

M. Samy El-Shall, Virginia Commonwealth University

Jordy Bouwman, Leiden University

Stefanie N. Milam, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Jos Oomens, Radboud University

Rocco Martinazzo, Università degli Studi di Milano

Kathrin Altwegg, University of Bern

Jeremy Chastenet, University of California San Diego

Hiroyuki Hirashita, Institute of Astronomy and Astrophysics - Academia Sinica 

Conor Andrew Nixon, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Lindsey St. Mary, Heriot-Watt University

Mathias Rapacioli, Université Paul Sabatier 

Alan Tokunaga, University of Hawaii

Els Peeters, University of Western Ontario

Leen Decin, University of Leuven 

Symposium Information

The symposium will be held at the Department of Physics & Astronomy, Aarhus University. 

Registration and abstract submission for contributed talks and poster presentations will re open soon, with notification of acceptance expected by 15th March 2021.  


Scientific organising committeeLocal organising committee

Liv Hornekær
Els Peeters
Alessandra Candian
Olivier Berné    
Xander Tielens 
Annemieke Petrignani

Liv Hornekær
Andrew Cassidy
John Thrower
Frederik Simonsen 
Rijutha Jaganathan 
Georgios Pantazidis
Karin Vittrup

Important Dates

Abstract submission will reopen in early 2021, with an expected deadline for submission of 15th February 2021.

The photo of the Horsehead nebula used in the banner image, is used with permission from: Robert Gendler