Aarhus University Seal

5th-9th September 2022, Aarhus University, Denmark

If this symposium interests you, you are advised to sign up to the mailing list for CosmicPAH2022

The life cycle of cosmic PAHs

Polycyclic Aromatic Hydrocarbons (PAHs) are ubiquitous in space where they play a key role in heating of interstellar gas via the photoelectric effect, in setting the ionization balance of the interstellar medium (ISM) and potentially also as catalysts for formation of interstellar molecular complexity and as a component of interstellar organic material and dust. PAHs are identified as carriers of the aromatic infrared bands (AIBs) and are observed in a diverse range of interstellar environments. Yet, their lifecycle in interstellar space is still not well understood. The aim of this meeting is to bring observational astronomers, theorists and experimentalists working on PAH observations, formation, fragmentation, photo-physics, spectroscopy, surface science and chemistry together to shed light on the lifecycle of cosmic PAHs and to explore the future opportunities for PAH research provided by novel theoretical and experimental methods and future observational missions with focus on JWST and ELT.  

The symposium is the third installment in a series of meetings on interstellar polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs) with previous meetings held in Toulouse in 2010 and in Noordwijk in 2016.

Invited Speakers

José Ángel Martín Gago, CSIC

Partha P. Bera, NASA Ames research center

Christiaan Boersma, NASA Ames research center / San José University Research Foundation

Sandra Brünken, Radboud University

Wybren Jan Buma, University of Amsterdam

Jan Cami, University of Western Ontario

Ewen Campbell, University of Edinburgh

Jeremy Chastenet, University of California San Diego

Leen Decin, University of Leuven

Francois Dulieu, CY Cergy Paris Université

Michael Duncan, University of Georgia

M. Samy El-Shall, Virginia Commonwealth University

Hiroyuki Hirashita,  Academia Sinica

Christine Joblin, Université Toulouse III / CNRS

Stefanie N. Milam, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Giacomo Mulas, Istituto Nazionale di Astrofisica - Osservatorio Astronomico di Cagliari

Conor A. Nixon, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Els Peeters, University of Western Ontario / SETI Institute

Mathias Rapacioli, Laboratoire de Chimie et Physique Quantiques

Melanie Schnell, Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY)

Lindsey St. Mary, Oregon State University

Alan Tokunaga, University of Hawaii

Henning Zettergren, Stockholm University

Xander Tielens, Leiden University

Nora Hänni, University of Bern

Brett McGuire, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Farid Salama, NASA-Ames Research Center

Christopher Materese, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Alessandra Candian, University of Amsterdam

Nathalie Ysard, Université Paris-Saclay

Mark Sephton, Imperial College London

List of participants

View list of participants

Symposium Information

The symposium will be held Aarhus University. 

Registration and abstract submission for contributed talks and poster presentations is currently open. Note that the number of participants will be limited to 80 and you are advised to register early to secure a place.


Scientific organising committee Local organising committee

Liv Hornekær
Els Peeters
Olivier Berné    
Xander Tielens 
Annemieke Petrignani

Liv Hornekær
Andrew Cassidy
John Thrower
Gabi Wenzel
Rijutha Jaganathan 
Karin Vittrup
Sergio Ioppolo

Important Dates

Abstract submission for contributed talks is now closed.

Poster submissions will be accepted until 15th August.

We are limited to max. 80 participants.

The photo of the Horsehead nebula used in the banner image, is used with permission from: Robert Gendler