Aarhus University Seal

European Climate Change Adaptation Conference

12th to 14th May 2015, Bella Center, Copenhagen, Denmark

Welcome to Copenhagen!

The second biennial ‘European Climate Change Adaptation Conference’ will be hosted in Copenhagen in 2015. More than 1000 participants are expected to attend this event.

The conference will offer a unique platform for researchers, policy makers, and businesses to share new research results, novel policy developments, and practical implementation experiences regarding climate change impacts and adaptation, as well as highlight opportunities for business innovations aimed at supporting the transition to low carbon societies.

It will also show how climate change adaptation in Europe can contribute to job creation and other societal benefits.

Director Kurt Vandenberghe of the European Commission will present at ECCA2015 where European adaptation research and innovation policies are heading the coming years. Join the opportunity and learn about the European Commission’s policy initiatives on climate services and nature-based solutions and their funding in Horizon 2020. Meet possible partners in this largest gathering of the European adaptation community.

The conference is organized by non-profit organizations; thus, conferences fees will apply to the participants. We look forward to key stakeholders like you supporting the conference and contributing the base funds necessary to conduct this event. For more information on the specific rates, please visit the registration page.

We very much look forward to welcoming you in Copenhagen in 2015.

Hans Sanderson, PhD
Head of ECCA 2015 Organizing Committee
Dept. Environmental Science - Aarhus University

Advisory Panel: 
Michael Goodsite (co-chair), Frans Berkhout (co-chair), Roger Street, Rob Swart, Paula Harrison, Richard Klein, Tiago Capela Lourenço, Jürgen Kropp, Tony Rosquist, Maria Manez, Marco Gemmer, André Jol, Paul Watkiss

Local Organizing Committee: 
Lykke Leonardsen (City of Copenhagen), Christina Busk (Confederation of Danish Industry), Stéphane Isoard (European Environment Agency), Hans Sanderson (Aarhus University) (chair)

Programme Committee:
Chiara Mazzetti, Ecologic Inst., Germany
Nico Steljes, Ecologic Inst., Germany
Julia Peleikis, ICLEI, Germany
Bernd Hezel, Climate Media Factory, Germany
Elisabeth Lanoo, CICERO, Norway
Katja Firus, T-6, Italy
Christian Bjørnæs, CICERO, Norway
Therese Rauch, PIK, Germany
Hans Sanderson, AU, Denmark

Confirmed key note speakers

Kurt Vandenberghe; European Commission
Hans Bruyninckx; European Environment Agency
Tine Roed; Deputy Director General at The Confederation of Danish Industry
Jens Hesselbjerg Christensen; The Danish Meteorological Institute (DMI)
Frans Berkhout; Kings College, London
Jiang Tong, China Meteorological Administration
Claus Kondrup, European Commission's Directorate-General for Climate Action
Linda Romanovska, Mayors Adapt
Sarah Hendel-Blackford. Ecofys UK 
Connie Hedegaard, KR Foundation
Rasmus Valanko, WBCSD
Bente Pretlove, DNV GL
Jean Palutikof, Griffith University
Hans von Storch, Helmholtz Zentrum Geesthacht
Panos Fetsis,EU Life Projects – AIEDL
Henk Ovink, International Water Affairs, The Netherlands
Amanda Cockroft, Climate-KIC Nordic

Head of Organizing Committee