Aarhus University Seal

Background and scientific committee

The purpose of the conference was to bring together scientists working on issues related to the North Water Polynya Region to present the most recent research and to discuss status, trends and the future of the North Water Polynya as well as future research needs. The North Water Polynya is a climate-sensitive area, and the potential alteration or disappearance of the polynya as a result of climate change has profound implications for the entire ecosystem, and the people living in the region.

The target audience of the conference was scientists working within the field of natural science in relation to the North Water Polynya Region. The conference was open for stakeholders as well, and following the conference a white paper on status and trends will be published for a wider audience.

The scientific committee of the conference consists of:

Anders Mosbech (Aarhus University)
David Barber (University of Manitoba)
Tom Christensen (Aarhus University)
Rune Dietz (Aarhus University)
Parnuna Egede (Inuit Circumpolar Council)
Louis Fortier (Université Laval)
Mads Peter Heide-Jørgensen (Greenland Institute of Natural Resources)
Line Anker Kyhn (Aarhus University)
Mark Mallory (Acadia University)
Flemming Merkel (Greenland Institute of Natural Resources)
Eva Friis Møller (Aarhus University)
Steffen Olsen (Danish Meteorological Institute)
Sofia Robeiro (Geological Survey of Denmark and Greenland)
Søren Rysgaard (Aarhus University)
Jean-Eric Tremblay (Université Laval)