Aarhus University Seal

Important dates

  • 1 October 2024
    Deadline for submitting papers
  • 31 December 2024
    All authors notified of decisions
  • 1 February 2025
    Deadline for registration with paper and payment of conference fee
  • 1 April 2025
    Deadline for registration without paper


EUROPHRAS - The European Society of Phraseology (www.europhras.org) is an international and interdisciplinary academic society of researchers working on formulaic language and multiword units. The society has members from a wide range of different research disciplines from about 50 countries around the world. EUROPHRAS was founded in Germany in 1999 and the EUROPHRAS 2025 conference is the 13th regular conference (with general assembly) of the society.


19-22 May 2025 (Monday-Thursday)
Aarhus University Conference Center

Keynote speakers

Call for papers

Download the call for papers as a PDF in English or German.

Phraseology and communication – Formulaic language in communication

As a research discipline, phraseology refers to the study of formulaic language, incl. various types of multi-word units such as collocations, idioms, proverbs, and other fixed expressions. The international conference Phraseology and communication – Formulaic Language in Communication invites to interdisciplinary discussions at the intersection of phraseology as a research discipline and the broad field of communication research, as well as on the function and realization forms of formulaic language in communication.

The conference welcomes research papers on the following topics, but is also open to other research on phraseology and paroemiology:

  • Phraseology and international, intercultural and interlingual communication incl. translation and interpreting.
  • Phraseology and specialized communication, e.g., in tourism, business, economics, law, medicine and health communication or academic, science and technical communication.
  • Phraseology and corporate communication within the framework of organizational and strategic communication incl. disciplines such as business and marketing communication, crisis communication, internal communication, and PR.
  • Phraseology and educational communication, didactic approaches in first, second, foreign and neighboring language teaching and learning, formulaic language in curricula and textbooks incl. new (interdisciplinary, digital, inter-/plurilingual) learning concepts and teaching materials.
  • Formulaic language in social media communication.
  • The relation of formulaic language to other sign systems, e.g., visual, and pictorial aspects of formulaic language, interaction of formulaic language with images, emojis and other non-verbal aspects in the communication.
  • Formulaic language in digital communication tools: AI, translation and writing aid programs, dictionaries and databases, other language technology.
  • The realization forms and functions of formulaic language in selected text types or media, including spoken, written, and digital communication.
  • Qualitative and quantitative approaches to formulaic language in communication studies as well as in studies within linguistic, cultural, and literature research.
  • Formulaic language in literature, music, film, and other art disciplines.
  • Theory of phraseology incl. discussion of the consequences of a broad definition of the research objects of phraseology as formulaic language for the theory, terminology, and applied aspects of phraseology research.

The EUROPHRAS 2025 conference is organized by The European Society of Phraseology (EUROPHRAS) and the Department of German and Romance languages at the Aarhus University, Denmark.

Scientific Committee:

  • Torben Arboe, Aarhus University
  • Andreas Bürki, Cardiff University
  • Harald Burger, Universität Zürich
  • Marios Chrissou, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens
  • Natalia Filatkina, Universität Hamburg
  • Christine Konecny, University of Innsbruck
  • Leone Ljubica, University of Milan
  • Florentina Mena Martinez, University of Murcia
  • Jens Erik Mogensen, University of Copenhagen
  • Fabio Mollica, University of Milan
  • Zuriñe Sanz Villar, University of the Basque Country
  • Irene Simonsen, University of Southern Denmark
  • Anna Sulikowska, University of Szczecin
  • Dessislava Stoeva-Holm, Uppsala University
  • Sören Stumpf, LMU München

Organizing Committee

  • Erla Hallsteinsdóttir, Associate Professor
  • Jan Engberg, Professor
  • Anke Heier, Research Assistent
  • Ermina Menzilovic, Research Assistent
  • Gitte Grønning Munk, Conference Coordinator
  • Marianne Rasmussen, Department Secretary

Contact mail: