Aarhus University Seal

1-3 JUNE 2016

Aarhus, Denmark

Venue: Department of Chemistry  Homepage - Map

Aarhus Airport Bus - Travel to Aarhus/Aarhus University                                                                        

Scientific programme updated May 25, 2016 - PDF available

Abstracts of Speakers

International symposium and summerschool 1-3 June 2016

Hydrides as Energy Materials - HydEM 2016 is a point of reference for scientists of energy materials science, and focus is on new hydrogen-containing materials for fuel cells, batteries, hydrogen storage, and conversion of CO2 into fuel.

Aarhus University is situated in the centre of the second largest city in Denmark, Aarhus, and offers easy access from three airports: Aarhus airport (50 min by bus), Billund airport (1.5 h by bus), or Copenhagen airport (3 h by train). How to get here

250 euro (early registration) / 300 euro (late registration), including lunches, dinners, coffee breaks, poster sessions, a certificate for participation (2 ECTS) from Aarhus University and access to all documentation for each oral presentation at HydEM 2016.

Recommended hotels:
Hotel La Tour A/S *** (approx. 75 euro/night) or Hotel Scandic City ***** (approx. 130 euro/night).


Confirmed speakers

  • Andreas Züttel, EPFL, Switzerland
  • Shin-Ichi Orimo, Tohoku University, Japan
  • Craig Buckley, Curtin University, Australia
  • Petra E. De Jongh, Utrecht University, Netherlands
  • Martin Dornheim, HZG, Germany
  • Etsuo Akiba, Kyushu University, Japan
  • Hai Wen Li, Kyushu University, Japan
  • Sabrina Sartori, University of Oslo
  • Marcello Baricco, University of Turin, Italy
  • Tejs Vegge, DTU Energy, Denmark
  • Jim Webb, Griffith University, Australia


  • Radovan Cerny, Université de Genève, Switzerland
  • Daniel Reed, University of Birmingham, UK
  • Bjørn Hauback, IFE, Norway
  • Luca Pasquini, Università di Bologna, Italy
  • Marek Polanski, Military University of Technology, Poland
  • Amelia Montone, ENEA, Material Technology Unit, Roma, Italy
  • Michael Hirscher, Max-Planck-Institut Stuttgart, Germany
  • Michael Felderhoff, Max-Planck-Institut Mulheim an der Ruhr, Germany
  • Arndt Remhof, Hydrogen and Energy EMPA, Switzerland
  • Michel Latroche, Institut de Chimie et des Matériaux Paris Est



Organizing Committee

Mark Paskevicius - markp@inano.au.dk

Torben R. Jensen - trj@chem.au.dk

iNANO and Department of Chemistry, Aarhus University



Marianne Sommer - hydem2016@chem.au.dk

Department of Chemistry, Aarhus University


Postal address

HydEM 2016
c/o Marianne Sommer
Department of Chemistry, Bldg 1511-216
Aarhus University
Langelandsgade 140
DK-8000 Aarhus C