Aarhus University Seal

Keynote speakers

Professor Fedro Zazueta, Department of Agricultural and Biological Engineering, University of Florida

Fedro Zazueta serves the University of Florida as Senior Director of the Office of Academic Technology. In this role, Zazueta is responsible for the wide variety of information technology services that support the university's mission of teaching, research, and service. He came to this position as the result of 25 years on the front lines of computer applications in agriculture, including software engineering, expert systems, computer control, simulation, and geographical information systems (GIS). In the process, Zazueta has become an international leader in agricultural computer applications.

Fedro Zazueta has served as president of CIGR from 2011 to 2012.

Professor Simon Blackmore, Head of Engineerng at Harper Adams University

Simon Blackmore is a key figure in the development of Precision Farming and agricultural robotics, with a world-wide reputation. Simon is currently Professor and Head of Engineering at Harper Adams University, Director of the National Centre for Precision Farming and managed the European FutureFarm project.

Simon has extensive experience of multidisciplinary collaboration across universities, commercial partnerships and research projects including autonomous tractors, laser weeding, robotic phenotyping and robotic harvesting.

He holds seven Chairs around the world and gives many national and international keynote presentations. Simon leads the research in the UK on agricultural robotics. His personal research focuses on improving Precision Farming by developing more intelligent machines and processes, and making crop production more efficient and sustainable.

  • Download presentation

Prof. Henrik Bindslev, Dean of the Faculty of Engineering at SDU

Henrik Bindslev has been engaged in energy research for more than 25 years. Prior to taking up his position as Dean of the Faculty of Engineering at University of Southern Denmark (SDU), Henrik was Director of Fusion for Energy, the European joint Undertaking for developing Nuclear Fusion and building ITER. Prior to that, he has been Vice Dean for research at Aarhus University and Director of Risø DTU, the Danish National Laboratory for Sustainable Energy. He has also been Chair of the European Energy Research Alliance (EERA), Danish national delegate to the European Strategy Forum on Research Infrastructures (ESFRI) and chairman of ESFRI’s Energy Strategy Working Group.

He was educated at DTU and completed a PhD in Plasma Physics at the University of Oxford.